Me+TV’s 2016 Fall TV Preview: ABC

Welcome to Me+TV’s 2016 Fall TV Preview! This page is about ABC’s new fall shows, if that is what you’re looking for, read on. If not, head back to the WELCOME PAGE or click the logo the network you’d like to read about instead.

nbc CW
CBSfox

 

D E S I G N A T E D   S U R V I V O R

Quick! What’s it About? America’s Presidential Back Up Plan, the TV Show.

Whose Involved? Designated Survivor comes from writer David Guggenheim (Safe House) and stars Keifer Sutherland (24), Maggie Q, Natasha McElhone, and Kal Penn.

When will it Air? Wednesdays at 10.

First Impression: This is a really fascinating idea that I can’t believe hasn’t been adapted into a film or series yet, (If I’m wrong on that, correct me in the comments) so just exploring what this nightmare scenario would look like is enough to get me to watch the first episode. However, beyond the cast, nothing here gives me faith that Designated Survivor will be worth watching once the initial premise dies down. I suppose the drama of the show will come from the finding the source of the original attack, but even that isn’t sustainable (Am I right, Quantico?). However, the premise and cast is strong enough for me to give them a chance to prove me wrong.

Will I Watch? I’ll give it a chance.


C O N V I C T I O N

Quick! What’s it About? A lawyer is given one last chance to prove the doubters wrong, and WILL SOMEONE PLEASE UN-CANCEL The Grinder!

Whose Involved? Hayley Atwell (Captain America: The First Avenger, Agent Carter) leads a solid cast including former X-Man Shawn Ashmore.

When will it Air? Mondays at 10

First Impression: Bleh. This looks fine, I guess. Atwell is a proven leading lady and has some tremendous acting muscles if given the chance to flex them. Unfortunately Conviction looks set to waste them in a law-drama we’ve seen a hundred times before. That’s not saying this isn’t well-executed and performed, but it just looks bland and unoriginal, especially after The Grinder took the genre to task this year. On a ultra-serious note: If this thing gets seven seasons and I only get one season of The Grinder, I will be incredibly upset with you, America.

Will I Watch? I’ll be watching The Grinder repeats instead, thank you very much.


I M A G I N A R Y   M A R Y

Quick! What’s it About? Imaginary friends are for adults too, right?

Whose Involved? The voice of Rachel Dratch as a white, furry imaginary friend and according to the IMDB page some other people, but I can’t get past the furry white imaginary friend, thing.

When will it Air? Midseason

First Impression: What is happening? For real, what did I just watch? I can’t even tell if this was funny because I was too confused to even pay attention. Unlike FOX’s Son Of Zorn (The other new sitcom this year that features an animated character), this gimmick doesn’t feel organic or fun at all. The whole thing is just so off-putting, and so, so, so, so strange looking. Seriously, what is that thing? WHAT THE HELL IS THAT THING? This show looks awful, by the way.

Back to the main story, Who designed that thing? Why? How? What?

Will I Watch? Ummmmm, no.


T I M E   A F T E R   T I M E

Quick! What’s it About? H.G Wells (yes, that one) travels to the present to stop Jack the Ripper (Yes, also that one), who for some reason, has also traveled to the present.

Whose Involved? EP Kevin Williamson (The Vampire Dairies) and a cast that includes Freddie Stroma (UnREAL) as H.G Wells, and John Bowman (Revenge) as Jack the Ripper

When will it Air? Midseason

First Impression: Contrary to what this trailer makes you believe, there’s a way for Time After Time to become a good show. The writers and performers have to strike just the right level of campiness to bring the audience into the absurd, and rather stupid, premise they built themselves into. Sleepy Hollow did it in an incredible first season, but fell into “this is baaaaaad” territory soon thereafter. I’m not saying that Time After Time is going to make that happen, but as someone who loves stupid, fun, campy TV, I would be over-the-moon if they actually did it

Will I Watch? There’s a 99% chance this show is awful, but that’s not going to stop me from watching the pilot anyway.


N O T O R I O U S

Quick! What’s it About? If The Newsroom, UnREAL, and every Shonda Rhimes show ever made had a baby.

Whose Involved? In the biggest surprise of the year, NOT Shonda Rhimes. The show does feature a pair of former USA stars in Piper Perabo (Covert Affairs) and Daniel Sunjatam (Graceland)

When will it Air? Thursdays at 9

First Impression: ABC has a lot of confidence in Notorious, giving the show Scandal’s prime TGIT timeslot. From the logline, it’s really easy to see why: the show fits right in with ABC’s other programming. But this trailer is bad, like really, really bad. From the god-awful voice over to the transition text cards, this might take the cake for the worst put together trailer of the season. The show doesn’t look much better, the ever-charismatic Sunjatam does his best, but even he can’t save this show from being another one of ABC’s now standard “We start by Jumping The Shark” dramas.

Will I Watch? Just watch UnREAL instead, its miles better and is actually delivering a really important message.


D O W N W A R D   D O G

Quick! What’s it About?  This is a show about a talking dog… I think.

Whose Involved? The show stars Allison Tolman (Fargo) and a dog that gets cuter as the trailer goes on. The show is apparently based on a web series.

When will it Air? Midseason

First Impression: No, no, no… This section is now called….

I have some questions

  • Hey, ABC: What the hell are you guys smoking? What is this show?
  • Is that dog talking directly to the camera or is he doing a voice over? Are his lips moving? Can people hear him? Does he know he’s on TV? Does the owner know the dog is doing a talking head?
  • How did you greenlight a show about a talking dog AND a show about a grown woman’s imaginary friend?
  • In this world, can dogs talk to other dogs in English a la toys in Toy Story, or do they bark a la real life?
  • Does this take place in the same universe as Dog With A Blog? What about Cats & Dogs?
  • Are Dogs and Cats separate races, and if so, does that mean all animals are just different races within the same species?
  • Also, what do you call different types of dogs, if not races?
  • Was the dog crying in the one scene, or did he just get really high and that’s how he’s able to talk to the camera?

Will I Watch? No, as cute as some parts of this trailer are, I can’t do this to myself. I would like some answers to my questions though.


A M E R I C A N   H O U S E W I F E

Quick! What’s it About?  A Mom feels out of place the in plush suburbs of… Connecticut?

Whose Involved? Director Ruben Fliesher (Zombieland) and stars Katy Mixon and Diedrich Bader.

When will it Air? Tuesdays at 8:30

First Impression: Well at least this comedy looks normal, within the context of ABC’s comedy slate that’s a pretty huge compliment. That being said, there’s not a lot in this trailer to get me excited about American Housewife. This is a story we’ve seen before, and though there are a couple of laughs here and there, it’s hard to believe that American Housewife will ever differentiate itself from the pack. The show could eventually fill a nice spot in ABC’s stacked roster of family sitcoms, but I can’t see it doing much more than that.

Will I Watch? Probably not.


S P E E C H L E S S

Quick! What’s it About?  A family moves to a new school and town because of their mentally handicapped son.

Whose Involved? Speechless comes from the creators of Fresh Off The Boat and stars Minnie Driver (About A Boy, Good Will Hunting)

When will it Air? Wednesdays at 8:30

First Impression: This trailer has a terrible case of “Gives away too much” disease, but aside from that, there’s a lot of charm to be found here. Minnie Driver is a very talented actress and looks to be right at home. Though some of the child acting is a bit suspect here and there, I’m gonna choose to believe it’s just the trailer (Which is admittedly generous but I’m looking for some positives here). This is probably the strongest of ABC’s new comedies, but that’s not saying an awful lot. 

Will I Watch? Probably, but I’d recommend watching The Fundamentals Of Caring when it hits NETFLIX this month instead (I saw it at Sundance and the movie is unbelievably good).



S T I L L   S T A R – C R O S S E D

Quick! What’s it About?  Someone saw Hamilton, didn’t they?

Whose Involved? Uber producer Shonda Rhimes (Scandal, Grey Anatomy, How To Get Away With Murder Without Really Trying)

When will it Air? Midseason

First Impression: The clearly Hamilton inspired take on the Romeo & Juliet tale is a really interesting idea, but the execution seems to be lacking. A tale of warring families of who both just lost their children at blame each other is fascinating. A story of arranged marriage and banned love is just a re-hash. Which is sad, because this could’ve been really cool.

Will I Watch? Nope

 

3 thoughts on “Me+TV’s 2016 Fall TV Preview: ABC

  1. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2016 Fall TV Preview: CBS | ME + TV
  2. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2016 Fall TV Preview: The CW | ME + TV
  3. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2016 Fall TV Preview: Welcome Page | ME + TV

Leave a Reply

