Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview Part 5: CW

preview 2

WELCOME PAGE

Part 1: NBC

Part 2: FOX

Part 3: ABC

Part 4: CBS

YOU’RE CURRENTLY READING Part 5: CW


DC’S LEGENDS OF TOMORROW

Quick! What’s it About?: JV Justice League

Whose Involved?: The show comes from Arrow/Flash producer Greg Berlanti and follows minor characters who’ve appeared on either show like Brandon Routh’s The ATOM and Victor Garber’s Firestorm, as well as some new heroes.

When will it Air?: Midseason

Will I Watch?: As a big fan of both The Flash and Arrow, I’m definitely excited by another show set within that universe. But, the relationships between those shows is already pretty convoluted and hard to follow at times (Seriously, how did Oliver have time to visit Central City to help Barry fight the reverse Flash?), and adding a third show will only make this worse. My hope is that CW airs Legends Of Tomorrow in the winter, similar to what ABC did for Agent Carter, that way viewers won’t have to juggle three separate storylines at once that exist within the same overarching universe.  All that said, this footage looks pretty fun, and I have enough faith in the Arrow and Flash creative teams to believe that this show will not disappoint.


CONTAINMENT

Quick! What’s it About?: Contagion, the TV show.

Whose Involved?: Containment stars David Gyasi (Interstellar), Chris Wood (The Vampire Diaries), Hanna Mangan-Lawrence (Spartacus: Vengence), and Trevor St. John (One Life To Live).

When will it Air?: Midseason

Will I Watch?: I watched this trailer right when CW released it a few weeks back, but by the time I got around to writing this post, I had already completely forgotten Containment existed. That really isn’t a good sign for the show. Containment looks fine, but compared to the other two shows on CW’s schedule, it doesn’t look like anything very unique or interesting. I will say CW is definitely stepping away from it’s teen-soap opera genre this year pretty dramatically, and when bland but okay overall show like Containment is the biggest disappointment of your slate of new shows that is definitely a good sign for the network quality wise. I’ll wait and see if Containment‘s pilot gets good reviews, but right now I doubt I ever sit down to watch an episode of this show.


CRAZY EX GIRLFRIEND

Quick! What’s it About?: This show is indescribably insane. I honestly don’t even know what to put here.

Whose Involved?: Crazy Ex Girlfriend stars newcomer Rachel Bloom, and is created by Bloom and Aline Brosh McKenna (The Devil Wears Prada).

When will it Air?: Mondays at 8:00

Will I Watch?: This is the single strangest show trailer I’ve ever seen, and I kinda liked it. Look, there’s a really good chance Crazy Ex Girlfriend turns out to be a huge train wreck, but at least they are trying something different. Either way, it’s definitely going to be entertaining. I don’t know, maybe I’m a sucker for a TV show that has no right existing (See: Galavant, Pushing Daisies, etc.), but by the end of the trailer I was laughing and smiling along with what seems to be a very charming, but very strange little show. This one definitely has limited appeal, but looks like it could be a ton of fun.


THE WRAP UP:

I’M TUNING IN

DC’s Legends Of Tomorrow

I’LL WAIT AND SEE

Crazy Ex Girlfriend, Containment

I’LL PASS

None

Thanks for reading!

Be sure to check out the rest of the TV Fall Preview at the links below:

preview 2

WELCOME PAGE

Part 1: NBC

Part 2: FOX

Part 3: ABC

Part 4: CBS

YOU JUST FINISHED READING Part 5: CW

5 thoughts on “Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview Part 5: CW

  1. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview Part 4: CBS | ME + TV
  2. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview Part 3: ABC | ME + TV
  3. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview Part 2: FOX | ME + TV
  4. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview: Welcome Page | ME + TV
  5. Pingback: Me+TV’s 2015 Fall TV Preview Part 1: NBC | ME + TV

Leave a Reply

