Initial Reaction to NBC’s New Fall Shows

This week, the five major TV networks (NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, and the CW) will be releasing their fall TV schedules. For me, and the three or four other TV addicts like me, this means a bunch of new TV trailers to analyze and judge. It’s admittedly absurd to form opinions about a show based on two to five minute trailers, but screw it, let’s do it anyway!

To keep everything simple, I will write one post for each network’s upcoming slate. This post is about NBC, check back throughout the week for the others.


CONSTANTINE

Describe the show in 1 Sentence: A British superhero fights demons, cracks wise, and saves the world.

Whose Involved: Constantine stars Matt Ryan (Not the Falcons QB), Lucy Griffiths and Harold Perrineau (Lost). The show was created by David S Goyer (The Dark Knight, Da Vinci’s Demons) based on the DC Comic book. Neil Marshall (Game Of Thrones) directed the pilot episode. 

When’s it on: Fridays at 10:00

My Reaction: Admittedly, this isn’t a very well put together trailer. But the impressive visuals and intriguing premise could make up for the laughably bad dialogue. NBC desperately wants to make the Friday genre block work, and I could definitely see Constantine fitting in nicely behind Grimm on Friday nights. Despite the lackluster trailer I’ll probably be tuning in for the pilot, just to see why the heck the guy from Lost has wings.


MARRY ME

Describe the show in 1 Sentence: The show that will try to break world record for amount of proposals in one TV episode.

Whose Involved: Marry Me stars Casey Wilson (Happy Endings) and Ken Marino (Party Down). The show was created by David Caspe (Happy Endings) and the pilot was directed by Seth Gordon (Horrible Bosses)

When’s it on: Tuesdays at 9:00

My Reaction: I laughed a couple times during the trailer, especially when Stanley showed up, but I’m not sold on Marry Me. Though the talent is there, Marry Me looks like another forgettable network comedy. NBC has been the home of such great comedies over the years (30 Rock, The Office, Parks and Rec, etc.), I’ve come to expect more than just average comedy from them. I guess I’m just having a hard time figuring out why the cancelled Community in favor of this. That cancellation hurt.


A TO Z

Describe the show in 1 SentenceWatch the Mother of HIMYM fall in love with another overly romantic guy, she doesn’t die in the end, we swear!

Whose Involved: A to Z stars Ben Feldman (Mad Men) and Cristin Miloti (How I Met Your Mother). The show is produced by Rashida Jones (Parks and Recreation) and the pilot was directed by Michael Patrick Jann (Community)

When’s it on: Thursdays at 9:30

My ReactionForget CBS’s How I Met Your Dad, A to Z could be the romantic comedy to win over viewers next fall. I’ll admit that the trailer isn’t perfect, but the lead pair looks like they work well together, and the premise is very HIMYM-esque. Will A to Z be the hit HIMYM was? Probably not. Will it fill the void in my TV viewing left by HIMYM? I’m optimistic that it might.


 

 STATE OF AFFAIRS

Describe the show in 1 Sentence: Scandal + The Blacklist + Homeland + The Girl from Knocked Up = State Of Affairs.

Whose Involved: State Of Affairs stars Katherine Heigl, Alfre Woodard, and Leslie Odom Jr. The pilot was directed by Joe Carnahan (The Grey), who also directed the pilot for The Blacklist. 

When’s it on: Mondays after The Voice starting in November

My Reaction: Wow, I could barely sit through this whole trailer, this show just looks so bland and ordinary. If I couldn’t make it through 2 episodes of The Blacklist, there’s no way I’ll be able to tolerate State of Affairs. The main reason The Blacklist succeeds is the fantastic performance given by James Spader. The problem for State Of Affairs is that Katherine Heigl is no James Spader.


BAD JUDGE

Describe the show in 1 Sentence: “Court Dismissed, bring in the dancing lobsters”

Whose Involved: Bad Judge stars Kate Walsh (Private Practice) and is executive produced by Will Ferrel and Adam McKay (Anchorman, The Other Guys)

When’s it on: Thursdays at 9:00

My ReactionInitially I was semi on board with Bad Judge. Though it didn’t look like it was going to be anything great, I laughed a couple of times for the first few minutes of the trailer. But, as the preview segued to the more serious child mentoring stuff, I started to roll my eyes instead of laugh. There is nothing wrong with a show having some heart, but this just seems so shallow and forced, it could ruin the show’s halfway decent premise. Adam McKay and Will Ferrel’s name value warrant at least one viewing, but I highly doubt I will tune in after that.


THE MYSTERIES OF LAURA

Describe the show in 1 Sentence: Is it possible for one woman to be a successful New York City Detective and a good Mom? Tune in to find out. 

Whose Involved: The Mysteries of Laura stars Debra Messing and Josh Lucas. The show was created by Jeff Rake (Boston Legal) and is produced by Greg Berlanti (Arrow). McG (This Means War, Chuck) directed the premiere episode.

When’s it on: Wednesdays at 8:00

My Reaction: Really NBC? This is the best you got? Why not air something interesting like Crossbones in this slot instead? I legitimately had a hard time making it through the trailer, I don’t know how someone could possibly do a whole hour.


 OVERALL THOUGHTS

These shows do not look all that impressive. Only A to Z caught my attention, though I’ll be paying attention to the reviews of Constantine as well. NBC’s more intriguing shows, like Odyssey (Homeland Meets Traffic), Mission Control (A Comedy about NASA set in the 60’s produced my Will Ferrell and Adam McKay) and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (Created by Tina Fey starring the Office’s Ellie Kemper), are all slated for midseason. As is Parks and Recreations seventh and unfortunately final season. But this first group of shows does not make up for the cancellation of Community.

I’M TUNING IN

A to Z, Constantine

I’LL WAIT AND SEE

Marry Me

I’LL PASS

The Mysteries of Laura, State Of Affairs, Bad Judge


CLICK THE LINKS BELOW FOR MY INITIAL REACTION TO OTHER NETWORKS NEW SHOWS.

NBC

FOX

ABC

CBS

3 thoughts on “Initial Reaction to NBC’s New Fall Shows

  1. Pingback: Initial Reaction to FOX’s New Fall Shows | ME + TV
  2. Pingback: Initial Rection To ABC’s New Fall Shows | ME + TV
  3. Pingback: Initial Reaction To CBS’s New Fall Shows | ME + TV

Leave a Reply

